Avoiding mistakes with “join”

Chinese speakers who are learning English often make the mistake of always translating “參加” as “join.” In most cases, this is not the correct translation. Let’s talk about how to use “join” correctly and about other words you should sometimes use instead of “join.”

1. Tests

Let’s get this out of the way first: In English, you should never talk about “joining” a test, exam, quiz, etc. In American English, the correct verb is “take.” In British English, the verb “sit” is often used.

I will join the GEPT next month.
I’m taking the GEPT next month. (US)
I’m sitting the GEPT next month. (UK)

2. Joining a group vs. attending an event

“Join” often means to become a member of a group. Here are some examples.

I’ve been a member of the Lions Club for a long time. I joined in 2007.
Two new employees joined our company this week.
Trump joined the Republican Party in 2012.

We do not normally use the word “join” to talk about showing up for an event. Instead, we use “attend” or “go to.”

I join Lions Club meetings regularly.
I attend Lions Club meetings regularly.
I go to Lions Club meetings regularly.

My job involves joining a lot of meetings.
My job involves attending a lot of meetings.
My job involves going to a lot of meetings.

Sometimes the same word can refer to either a group or an event. For example, “class” can mean a group of students who are taught together, or it can mean an event at which students meet together and are taught by a teacher. “Join” is correct for the first meaning, but not for the second one.

A new student joined our class last week, so now there are 12 students in the class.

I join my English class a week two times.
I attend my English class twice a week.
I go to my English class twice a week.

“Church” is another word that can be used both ways. It can mean a Christian religious organization (a group), or it can mean worship services (an event).

My cousin became a Christian last year and joined a local church.

My cousin joins church every Sunday.
My cousin attends church every Sunday.
My cousin goes to church every Sunday.

3. Joining someone for something

We can use the pattern “join someone (for something)” to talk about doing something together with someone.

Would you like to join us for lunch? (= have lunch with us)
A bunch of us are going shopping this weekend. Would you like to join us? (= go shopping with us)
I’m joining some friends for coffee after work. (= have coffee with some friends)

When you use “join” this way, the object should always be a person or people, not an event or activity.

Would you like to join lunch with us?

4. Joining in an activity

“Join in” can be used to talk about participating in an activity. The object of “in” should be a word that refers to an activity — something you do — rather than an event like “meeting” or “class.” The object can be omitted if it is clear from context.

Everyone in the class joined in the discussion.
John heard us arguing about politics and joined in the argument.
He sang a song, and the audience joined in the chorus. (= sang the chorus together with him)
We finished the work quickly because everyone joined in. (= joined in the work)

If you want to learn more about English, come to Eton and find out which of our classes would be the best one for you to join. You’ll learn a ton!

Eton Royal English School
伊敦皇家英語
彰化市民族路150號
Phone: (04)727-2177
E-mail: eton.changhua@gmail.com
Facebook: @etonenglish

Leave a comment